June 23, 2006

  • A Marmite(tm) childhood

    LAST edit of the day:
    Some of you said you might actually try this salty, savoury snack for
    the first time! I wrote to one or two of you with instructions on how
    to make this experience positive, and then I thought, hey, I’ll post it
    here. Follow these instructions if you ever get personal with a jar of
    Marmite!

    1. Make a lovely golden crunchy hot slice of toast from your favourite bread. Homemade white does it for me.
    2. Spread a medium amount of butter or margarine on it while it’s still nice and steamy.
    3. Take a very small amount of
      Marmite on the end of a butter knife and streak the toast lightly with
      it. Definitely leave gaps between the streaks. Don’t use more than
      about a pea-size amount of Marmite.
    4. Take a moment to smell the warm
      toast with its Marmite coating. Be sure to be thinking about how it’s
      salty and savoury, and not sweet in any way.
    5. Take a great big flavourful bite! Woowoo!

    Night, all!

    Yesterday I found the cookbook referenced above, while downtown with a
    friend, browsing through the shops. It’s the kind of thing you just buy
    instantly when you see it. Wait until my mom looks at this — there
    will be some laughing then!

    mmt
    Marmite brings on delightful childhood nostalgia. Just a sniff of the
    open jar, and I am suddenly sitting at the sunny kitchen table with my
    born-in-England mom, feeling included in something special because we
    were indulging in our favourite snack, Marmite spread oh-so-thinly on
    crunchy hot buttered toast.

    It’s a well-known fact that unless you were introduced to Marmite as a
    little kid, you probably loathe the whole concept of it, whereas if you
    were, you are a lifelong devotee. Today, I thought about how this
    curious phenomenon highlights the importance to a person’s development
    of the experiences they have as a child. Marmite may be a trivial
    example, but I do think it’s vital to give children as wide an
    experience of life as possible, so that they will become receptive and
    open-minded adults.

    All these serious thoughts because of Marmite! Gotta go — gonna drool on my keyboard if I don’t have some this instant!


    Post-toast edit:
    You know how you really love something and it’s really
    part of your life, so you forget that there are people out there who
    are like, what the heck is that odd person talking about? Well, for those people, read up.

    Aha: Now that I’m out on the Internet looking at Marmite resources, I naturally have found the Missouri Marmite Museum. This proves that there are some Americans who have tasted this tasty taste!


    Recursive references award: I’ve just been Googled on “what’s been googled”! *goggles* *giggles*

Comments (40)

  • I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Marmite!  I wanted to comment on a few of your entries lately, but I just haven’t had enough time to get around.

  • I’ve heard of Marmite and seen it at a store that carries international foods but I’ve never tasted it.

    Recently I came across an all rhubarb cookbook that I had to have. I thought if I don’t buy this now it may not be here next time.

    Enjoy your Marmite!

  • i never heard of it… please educate me!

  • Marmite!!!  Now there’s a memory (I was raised by English transplants as well).

  • I have never heard of it!  I read the Wikipedia entry…yeast extract…sounds icky…but I’ll bet it isn’t, if you were raised with it!  I can’t imagine what it tastes like.  Can you describe?  All it said is “savory” and that it has a high sodium content.  Is is sweet, too?

    I am brave, and if I see some in the international section, I will buy a jar and try it out with my kids.  :fun:

  • I have never heard of Marmite, so I read the Wikipedia and all I can think of is the yeast extract, which makes me think of rising or bloating!!  :lol:   I hope it really doesn’t do that!

    blessings,

    Chris

  • Despite having been raised by a very British mother, any of these foods ending in ‘ite’ have me running screaming for any way to avoid the smell, thought, taste … Vegemite, Marmite … shudder. So yes, I fully agree that some tastes can be cultivated later in life, and some [deleted to ensure that I remain a welcome reader]. Best wishes

  • :eek: :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

    I hear of so many things for the first time when reading your blog. :giggle:

  • :goodjob:I LOVE MARMITE!!!:goodjob: Quite a few years ago, I was corresponding with a Brit friend who mentioned it. And sent me some. I love the stuff. I came in late and I’m still a life long devotee of it!! And the Aussie equivalent of vegemite!! Yummmmm!!! And so versatile!! LOL, damn…now *I* want some!!!

  • Yup, sounds like one of those things you have to be raised on to like. I have some of those. Judi

  • I have heard of Marmite, though I’ve never tasted it before. I think I will, though, now. Maybe I can acquire a taste for it even though I’m not quite a kid anymore.

  • And I have now learned something new! Never heard of it.

  • I hope you got your fix. It’s not good if the keyboard gets wet! I’ve never tasted it, but knew it was around. Yeast extract? Eew!

  • RYC : its all in fun, they don’t hold you any longer then an hour, now you may get some crap from the other inmates but its all good =)  I just had my sister arrested for having horns on her jeep hahahah… its great!

  • Good heavens, to think I live just a stone’s throw from the Missouri border and have never heard of Marmite or its museum!  I’d love to try it, though!  You made it sound very good!

    RYC:  You know, I HAD planned to ask the waiter about that dressing, but was so amazed when he gave us so much of it.  That’s probably how they keep from divulging the recipe – they shock you by giving you more and you forget to ask!  :lol:

    Kathi

  • Braunschweiger is my Marmite. Most people either love or hate this stuff too!! I am of course in the Love it category. Have a great weekend. =)

  • **Spam Shit

    1 can of Spam cut into small cubes
    1 small bunch of broccoli or a small bag if you get the frozen
    1 box of any brand of Au Gratin potatoes
    Whatever ingredients are called for in the Au Gratin potato mix–I believe butter/margarine, milk, and/or water
    A cup of grated cheddar cheese

    Put the ingredients–minus the cheese–in a large enough pot and cook following the directions of the mix. If you use frozen broccoli, that’ll be just enough time to cook it to done. If you use fresh, you’ll have to cook it a little longer than the tatties. You may need to add a bit more water/milk. You may not. Eyeball it and just go by your instincts. Once the potatoes are done, add the cheese and mix until incorporated into the sauce which will thicken a bit more. Let it cool a little before serving, to set up a little more. Remember, you want a thick cheese sauce. Yummy stuff. And if you add the gel that comes with the Spam, it adds more flavor and you don’t need to salt the dish.

    **Otherwise, add your favorite kielbasa, summer sausage, what have you and it’s yummy yummy yummy.

  • Interesting.  I have never heard of this product.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen it in any stores here. 

  • I have no clue the joys of Marmite, but I had to agree that it’s vital to open the door for as much experience as possible, for children. :goodjob:

    As an adult, I’ll have to try some if I ever see in the story…just for kicks and giggles.

  • I’ve never heard of Marmite, altho’ it truly sounds enticing.  In taking your advice and “reading up” on the subject, I noticed ‘the Marmite Food Extract Company was formed in Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire, England in 1902′.  That’s our Sister City (we have a park here named in its honor).  I’m thinking they need to open a satellite store in their sister city.  Small world.

    xoxoxo

  • I’d love to try it… I’ve been meaning to find a jar for years. I think I’ll get some this weekend.

  • That stuff reminds me of my Ex.  Yuck.

    Thank you for your comment.  It spurred me to write a letter to my daughter, one you can find on http://www.xanga.com/six__of__one if you have the stomach for a 43 year-old woman exploiting herself as a “newborn” sexual being.

    Thanks again,
    Kim

  • I have heard of Marmite, but I always thought it was a British thing. I get the feeling I wouldn’t like it, just from the description on the bottle. I’m not supposed to east yeast products anyway.

    But I’m glad you are enjoying it. :goodjob:

    Lynn

  • I’ve heard of vegemite, but not marmite.  I’d probably at least consider trying it.  I mean, if I’ve eaten crawdads (or ‘crayfish’ as they are called in Louisiana), I think I could try a yeast byproduct.  I draw the line at raw fish, though.  You have to have some standards! :rolleyes:

  • I have heard of Marmite, but I always thought it was a British thing. I get the feeling I wouldn’t like it, just from the description on the bottle. I’m not supposed to east yeast products anyway.

    But I’m glad you are enjoying it. :goodjob:

    Lynn

  • RYC: Thanks, I’ll remember your suggestions. I love the way you worded your comment – it kind of made trying Marmite for the first time sound clandestine, like A teenager’s guide to secretly smoking a cigarette stolen from Father when he fell asleep in his chair.

    I imagine it could be found in a place like Pusateri’s, right? Or The Kitchen Table?

  • Hmm … yeast extract! :wha:

  • I see that the sanwich post got you going!  I have never heard of Marmite before.  Very interesting post, thank you for sharing it.

  • lol, marmite. Youre very entertaining :fun:

  • Not in my grocery.  Maybe I should look for it.  I’m always game for something new.

  • your welcome…thanks too for sending messages to my site.take care and bless you.

  • I don’t think I’d heard of Marmite before now. Put that together with some Fluff and — well, I don’t want to think about it.

    You’ve achieved recursiveness! That’s excellent!

    ryc: I am also a Wal-Mart boycotter. Cheers.

  • Not enough Marmite! I want something about the size of my thumbnail…maybe a wee bit bigger. I love the taste!!

  • I have never heard of the stuff. Will have to give it a spin!

  • I started loving marmite when I lived in the UK….I’ve had it at least once a week since. It’s my ultimate comfort food. Yummmmmmmmmmmm! It’s just a shame that it costs $5.00 a jar in Ohio. I miss being able to plop down 75p on a jar of marmite, 25p for a loaf of bread, 90p for some butter and then be in heaven!! :love:

  • Hey! Thanks for the support! I am trying anything to beat this disgusting habit and reading as much as I can.

    How the heck do you get 35 comments each blogs,LOL? I am lucky to get 1 or 2.

  • I see now what I did wrong! I treated the marmite like peanut butter and spread maybe a teaspoonful or more on the toast. Okay, moderation is key here. I’ll give it another try some day.

  • Interesting, when we were child we also painted pics and shick them together, it is a good work to stimulate creative,keep up work!
    by <a href=" http://www.airjordans.cc/air-jordan-14-14/">Jordan Retro 14

  • This post makes me realize the energy of words and pictures.It was very helpful for me and it’s filled with information. keep smiling and take care!
    by <a href="http://www.cheapjordans.cc/">Jordan Sneakers

  • How wonderful article! Simple language, concise blog! Another style! I like! 
    by <a href=" Jordan 15 Shoes

    <a href=" Jordan Jordan Retro 13 Shoes :)
    <a href=" Jordan Jordan Retro 9
    <a href=" Jordan Jordan 8 Fusions

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *