Month: April 2010

  • Sixty-five roses

    Photo244

    I want to write a little entry about a beautiful, talented
    young Canadian named Eva Markvoort, who just died at age 25 from cystic
    fibrosis
    .

    Over the last four years, she helped CF sufferers and inspired thousands of others with her open and honest blog. An award-winning
    documentary
    was made about her perilous, months-long wait for a double lung transplant in 20
    07.
    (If that link doesn’t work
    for you, you can still see a trailer for it on YouTube.)


    I discovered that, because CF is a childhood disease,
    often its victims learn about it when they are too young to pronounce the name.
    Instead, they call it “sixty-five roses.”
    Eva was a writer, an artist and an actor, and with her
    looks and talent she should have gone on to be a star of stage and screen. What
    she wanted more than anything from all of us is for us to get up right away and
    to make sure that we are all registered organ donors. Please consider doing this right now, in memory of lovely Eva.


    evaheart4c


    CG


    P.S. I sometimes write about the greatness of the Canadian healthcare system, which certainly has saved my own life while preserving my financial wellbeing. Here is Eva’s own take on it, written in her blog on September 6, 2009:

    As a side note to my American friends….I met with my CF social worker
    who has already spoken with the social worker in Toronto and
    pre-arranged to have all the paperwork sorted out for me, I can do it
    online and am never without coverage. The docs willingly send me with
    more than enough free meds with additional supplemental antibiotics
    just in case and are more than happy to send me more meds in the mail
    should I require them.
    If politicians tell you that public
    healthcare in Canada doesn’t get the patients the treatments they need
    when they need them…they are LYING! Even switching from being on
    disability in BC to having a fulltime job with coverage in a different
    province hasn’t been difficult at all although I will keep you posted
    on how it goes once I get there.
    [...]
    I feel so
    grateful that decisions regarding my healthcare are made by deciding
    what is best for me as the patient and not by who pays them or what
    insurance will cover. All the doctors here are paid by the government
    and therefor there is no denying care and there is no stealing patients
    or hiding information or any form of non-compliance in sharing
    information. We are all on the same team working as hard as we can to
    keep me healthy and I find such great comfort in that.
    There is no stress in my life to pay copays or medical bills.
    I have been on disability since before transplant which meant that the
    months where I wasn’t able to work the government provided me with
    enough money to pay rent and groceries, and if I was able to work then
    they assured I made enough, making up the difference if my pay was
    lower. And if I did make more then enough that month then I didn’t
    receive the supplemental income. It was a safety net. And even now
    moving to Toronto for this full time job I am giving up my disability
    file in BC but I checked with my social worker and if it doesn’t work
    out, if I get sick and have to move home, my file is easily re-opened
    and my medications are instantly free again.
    I am ever grateful to be Canadian.