Month: July 2009

  • Tower of London PLANET

    I created this panorama planet from a photo of the Tower of London taken by my parents last year on their trip to England. Turns out it’s easy to create photoplanets from your own pics! You could try this site (it’s what I used!). Hope you enjoy it.

    planetthames

  • Canadian Healthcare in Canadian News

    Here is an article from today’s edition of a Canadian national newspaper, discussing a recent large-scale study of how Canadians feel about their system. When I compare this with how many Americans talk about health care, I find the differences quite striking.

    Canadians Happy with Primary Health Care, Study Says
    A large-scale survey finds that most Canadians have high praise for their family doctor

  • Myths vs. Facts about Canadian Healthcare

    I have written about this before (click on Canada in my tags), but it bears repeating, since I hear that Americans are now being treated to TV ads wherein a supposed Canadian urges them not to let the government “get between” them and their doctors. For  heaven’s sake, Americans ought to be angry at whoever is spreading these lies.

    I live in Ontario and am more than happy to answer any kinds of questions anyone may have about healthcare. Just write me and ask! I reiterate that I myself have been gravely ill during my life, and have been treated and cured by a system that never burdened me with the ruinous (to an individual) costs of such treatment. Instead, those costs were borne by Canadians as a whole, who can easily afford as a group what would be life-destroying to a single person.

    The government does not get between me and my excellent doctor. When I go to the hospital, I am never asked about money. Instead, I hand over a health card that proves I am entitled to Canadian healthcare, and the remaining discussions are entirely about what’s wrong with me and how I may best be treated.

    What the government does for me is collect taxes from all Canadians, including me, a portion of which goes to pay for all of our collective medical needs. Doctors have only one organization to send their bills to. Certain things aren’t included, notably dental and optical expenses, but many Canadians get some coverage for those through their employers. I’m not looking forward to my next dental appointment, since I know some stuff is going wrong in there — but I can’t imagine what it would feel like to dread my next appointment with the doctor because I might not be able to afford to pay for it.

    Decades ago, the citizens of Canada ordered their provincial governments to collect taxes and to pay for healthcare for all Canadians. My own experiences suggest that we have a great system here, even when you consider that wait times in emergency can be longish. The government doesn’t interfere — it serves our best interests, as it was told to do, and it does so in a way that is much cheaper than what the same services cost in the United States, because the government is not allowed to make a fortune from our medical needs. Simple!

    Private profit-taking interests are trying and trying to chip away at our system here in Canada and to discredit it so that Americans will not take any steps to end the great money-making venture that is private provision of healthcare in the United States. Don’t listen to them. Ask me and other Canadians for the truth instead! Our way is much cheaper and more humane. I am proud to feel that my taxes help other Canadians to get good healthcare. If you are an American, imagine the peace of mind!

    Don’t let private profit-takers get between you and your doctor!

  • Sweet Old Henry

    Here is our lovely and much furrier kitty after four months of hangin’ with us in his new home. As you can see, Henry is a very fuzzy and contented-looking creature compared to the day we got him home. He is sweet-tempered and patient . . . not shy around new people or even the odd canine guest . . . and adores as much attention as we care to lavish on him. He is so soft and silky that everyone just wants to bury their hands in his fur, which exactly accords with his nefarious schemes! His favourite activities include eating, stretching out on laps, and rolling in catnip while disemboweling imaginary enemies, paws waving hilariously in the air.

    I am sorry to say that his feet seem pretty messed up from the previous owner’s veterinarian’s complete declawing. Declawing seems unfortunate at best — but why declaw the back paws too? I never imagined that anyone would ever do that. He doesn’t like his paws touched at all, they seem very sensitive.

    My only regret with wee Henry is that I wasn’t around for his kitten stage a decade ago. With that white ruff and four white paws, he must have been devastatingly cute!

    henry